Thread Closed 

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Display driver amdkmdap stopped responding and has successfully recovered (SOLVED)
06-06-2010, 08:12 PM
Display driver amdkmdap stopped responding and has successfully recovered (SOLVED)
I am not sure where to put this at?

today , I was playing world of warcraft on the same PC i have been playing it on for 2 years, and all of a sudden out of the blue, the screen became all pixelated and froze up, then an error bubbled popped up down in the corner that said "Display driver amdkmdap stopped responding and has successfully recovered" and at this point a few different things happen, either the game freezes for a few minutes then continues working, or the computer crashes out right.

I have used the check / repair WoW tool that comes with world of warcraft, I have deleted and reinstalled the driver, and it seems to still be happening to me randomly, does anyone have any idea what the problem might be here?
Send this user an email Find all posts by this user
07-06-2010, 11:27 AM
Hey Zombie,

Will admit this is a new error to me, but have just being doing a little reading on the problem.

From what I read while it is reported as a driver error, this may not be true and it could also be a problem with ATI chipsets on some cards.

What model Graphics card do you have?

Also you could try a utility to completely remove the ATI drivers as sometimes they leave older files behind or do not completely overwrite them with the latest dll's

So this is the one I used in the past and how to get best results

Quote:Download the latest version of your drivers, but dont install them yet!

Anyways Download a copy of Nasty File Remover from http://majorgeeks.com/Nasty_File_Remover_d3233.html

Install it but dont run it yet.

Right click on My Computer and select manage, then expand the Device Manager option.

Double click on your display adapter and then choose Uninstall for your graphics card.

Do not reboot if asked.